Double X costs are always kind of yucky, but on a one-drop creature, it’s not a bad ability. Say you wanted to destroy a two-drop artifact: it would cost you 5 mana to destroy that artifact. While that’s quite a bit of a mana investment to destroy one card, on a one-drop creature, it’s not bad at all. I could see this card being usable in Commander, even though there are far superior ways to destroy artifacts in red.
Being a 1/1 creature for 1 (and having been errata’d to a Shaman that is relevant for some cards), Gorilla Shaman is at least worth a look in the right deck. Reusable removal is always worth something. For Constructed purposes, though, it’s one to pass on – although it wasn’t bad in Ice Age Block Constructed.