It is technically possible for a 15-year-old to marry a 70-year-old in New Jersey – although it is highly unlikely that a court official would approve the arrangement.
Age of consent in New Jersey
In New Jersey,it is legal for a 16 or 17-year-old to marry with parental consent. According to the official literature posted by the State of New Jersey Department of Health, both individuals must:
“Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 18 may enter into a Marriage with parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family part.”
There are additional laws that affect everyone wishing to get married in New Jersey, including minors:
· There is a 72-hour waiting period for everyone wishing to marry in the state.
· Once obtained, the marriage license is valid for a month.
· Nonresidents can marry in New Jersey and are still subject to the license requirements and waiting period.
This post was originally published on Examiner.com.